The Angelina factor

Here is a great post from my friend Tami who has MBC (Metastatic Breast Cancer). What I love most about Tami is while she knows the realities of this disease, she continues to inspire as she shares stories about hope on her blog as well as her award-winning book, From Incurable to Incredible: Cancer Survivors Who Beat the Odds.

I was also sorry to hear about Angelina’s Aunt who died from MBC. Because there are 113 deaths a day from MBC in the US alone, you can also read an incredible Tribute to Maria Wetzel who also died from MBC the same day as Angelina Jolie’s aunt.

We must do everything to continue research that will help those with metastasis stay alive, while we work on ending this terrible disease.

The Pink Fund

Now that some time has passed, I think I can discuss this in a rational manner. There have been varied reactions to Angelina Jolie’s descision to have a double mastectomy after testing positive for the BRCA gene mutation, a hereditary factor affecting a five percent of breast cancer and 10-15 percent of ovarian cancer cases. The cover of People magazine calls it a brave and heroic act. Others call it self-serving and drastic. I just read an article in the Boston Globe, which criticized her for having the wealth and beauty to afford such an endeavor.

My reaction? Sheer anger and frustration. I bristled at all the attention and admiration bestowed upon Angelina, when in contrast I feel the real heroes are the women facing metastatic (stage IV) cancer who  garner little publicity, and worse, funding. I felt furious that so many wonderful women and men, many of them young…

View original post 632 more words

5 thoughts on “The Angelina factor

    1. What you wrote is so moving. I am glad that my readers on my blog will get to read this. It should be published in mainstream news so that others get the true picture of breast cancer.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Marie for including this in your incredible weekly round up of all the great posts this week. You have such a special way of bringing us all together.

      Like

Comments are closed.